Music Memory

I have been blessed to visit several beautiful and special places over the past few years. From once-in-a-lifetime memories in England and Scotland with my dad, to visiting Paris, the city of my childhood dreams, with some of my favorite people, they are all close to my heart. Trips like those are ones that you never want to lose. Not just the pictures or the souvenir you bring back, but the feeling you get seeing the Eiffel Tower sparkle right in front of your eyes, the way your croissant tasted in the morning, or the skip in your heart when you walked past the restaurant where J.K. Rowling wrote Harry Potter. I didn’t want to ever forget how I felt in those exact moments, so I found a way to trap those feelings in a little bottle and only get them out when I need them: music.

I swear.

I have albums that I listened to almost exclusively on both trips, and to this day when I listen to them, I can feel the way that I did on those trips. When I went to England and Scotland during my sophomore year, I listened to Ed Sheeran’s Plus (+) album, and when I went to France and Spain last year, I listened to George Ezra’s Wanted on a Voyage album. They both hold a special, little place in my heart.

If you are about to go on your senior trip, or you are getting ready to spend spring break in a new, exciting place, I encourage you to pick an album and stick to it. Seriously, the music memory that I find in these albums is invaluable. Embrace what music can do for you.

File_000 (2)  file_001-12file_000-30file_004-7file_003-8file_002-5file_001-11file_000-29Processed with VSCOcam with c1 presetfile_000-28


Leave a comment